GMSR Wrap-up: Oh, the things you can find if you don’t stay behind!

If you never did you should. These things are fun and fun is good.
That was that. The 2011 Green Mountain Stage Race simply ended. It started off terribly and I thought I’d made a huge mistake by going. But day-by-day, it grew on me. The roads in Vermont became familiar, I’d become better friends with my roommates, the racing community had started to gel, and it stopped feeling like I was fighting everything. When I woke up and went to work Wednesday morning, I felt a little bit sad that there was no anxiety for a race start in the pit of my stomach, that there wouldn’t be any suffering that day. I guess this is what I do now. Because I am a cyclist.

The road season is effectively over now. I can look back over a very long year of racing and be happy with what has happened. Certainly, I wish I had accomplished more, but that will keep me going next year. When I think about having done 30 or 40 races, I can’t hardly believe it. The season flew by. Who knew it was possible to be nostalgic so quickly?

The rest of the year is up to me to do whatever I feel like. And then it’s back to base layers, then arm and knee warmers, eventually jackets, hats, winter base rides with friends. If I’m sad that racing is wrapping up, I’m looking forward to all those things that winter brings.

Leave a Reply

