Greetings from Altoona!

Andrew traveled up to Altoona, PA for the Tour de Toona. Over the next few days, first hand updates from the racing, pictures, and aimless scribblings from the trip will be posted here. Stayed tuned.

It’s been a busy 24 hours. I didn’t sleep enough over the past week, so I took a nap instead of jumping on top of my to-do list after work yesterday.  A 2 hour ride with Whole Wheel Velo Club’s (WWVC) Chris Doerfler pushed the envelope a little farther, and the next thing I knew, I was finishing gluing my tires at 10:00 p.m. and I hadn’t started packing. Oops. Mounting my new [to me] Zipps on the race bike, I had a little trouble getting the pads to stop rubbing. Closer inspection revealed a crack in the front rim! With a brand new tire glued to it. Ugh. That’ll teach me to set up new equipment the night before leaving for a race.

A new addition to the wheel graveyard.

Fast forward 15 hours, a lunch break spent packing, and a lot of running around: on the road…. just in time for rush hour traffic all the way up route 270. But them’s the breaks. Fast forward another few hours… I miss my exit on the PA Turnpike… a place where there are no breaks in the jersey barriers or extra exits. Another hour on the trip. But that’s over, I’m checked in, and looking forward to a good night’s sleep.

Home base for the next three days.

Tomorrow will be a nice, easy ride with The Dirt Field, who has been up here for 2 days already as part of the Women’s Pro/1/2 stage class, for a few openers, to get ready for Saturday’s 69 mile road race. WWVC’s Andrew Shelby and John Churan will be helping represent the Northern Virginia region of MABRA with me. The route goes from Altoona to Blue Knob – up a serious climb with at least one 18% grade – and back. Color me nervous. And with only one Zipp?

And now I really can say “but I stayed in a Holiday Inn Express last night!”

Leave a Reply

